Microscopy of Historical Film Colors

 

We are pleased to announce the online event

Microscopy of Historical Film Colors

to launch the digital exhibition of the images resulting from a joint research project between HTW Berlin and the University of Zurich (UZH). 

The event will take place online on Friday, May 28 at 6 pm CEST (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm BST) and last approx. 90 minutes.

In this project, historical film color samples stemming from the Koshofer Collection, now at UZH, have been microscopically investigated in transmission and in cross-sections at the conservation-scientific facilities of HTW Berlin. The intriguing and often stunning photomicrographs showcase the relationship between the photographic image, their material and chemical composition and the three-dimensional structure unique to the analog moving image heritage in color, while exhibiting their own peculiar beauty.

Commencing that day, the images will be accessible through a virtual exhibition gallery and via the individual color processes on the Timeline of Historical Film Colors https://filmcolors.org.

Program:

Welcome from the HTW’s School of Culture and Design (Prof. Dr. Susanne Kähler)

Welcome from the UZH’s Department of Film Studies (Prof. Dr. Barbara Flueckiger)

The Koshofer Collection. A Historical Resource for Scientific Film Color Studies (Dr. Giorgio Trumpy, UZH)

Towards Conservation Science Tools in Film Preservation. A Brief Introduction (Prof. Dr. Ulrich Ruedel, HTW Berlin)

Microscopy of Historical Film Samples (Sreya Chatterjee, HTW Berlin)

Q&A

Registration:

To register, please visit 

https://uzh.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_euDn0K4zQHGaYLSuPJm-ag

We gratefully acknowledge the financial support from HTW’s FNK Commission and UZH for the project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.